Experience the thrill of the Queen Mother Champion Chase, the pinnacle of speed and agility in the National Hunt horse racing calendar. Dive into the heart of betting action where legends are made, and fortunes can be won on the turn of a hoof!

Queen Mother Champion Chase

The Champion Chase is known for its fast-paced and thrilling action, with horses competing over a distance of approximately 2 miles. The fastest winning time in the history of the race was recorded by Sprinter Sacre in 2013, when he stormed to victory in a remarkable time of 3 minutes and 46.50 seconds, showcasing his exceptional speed and agility.

Champion Chase Cheltenham Betting

2024 Champion Chase Betting Preview

As the 2024 Queen Mother Champion Chase approaches, anticipation is high for another thrilling installment of this prestigious Grade 1 race at the Cheltenham Festival. Reigning champion Energumene’s absence due to injury leaves a notable void in the field. However, attention swiftly turns to formidable contenders El Fabiolo and Jonbon, whose impressive form and track record position them as leading favorites.

For a bet suggestion, consider an each-way wager on good old Captain Guinness who has shown consistent form and could offer excellent betting value if he can put in another solid performance on race day.

Champion Chase Race Details:

When: Wednesday, March 13th – 3:30 pm
Prize: £400,000
Distance: Two-miles
Race Type: Grade 1 Chase
Age: 5-Years+
Course: Old Course
Weights: 11st 10lb, 7lb allowance for mares
Where to Watch? ITV Racing, Racing TV, Bookmaker Streams

2024 Champion Chase Odds

  • 1/2 El Fabiolo
  • 7/2 Jonbon
  • 8/1 Edwardstone
  • 20/1 Captain Guinness
  • 25/1 Elixir Du Nutz

Champion Chase Betting Strategies

Master the art of Champion Chase betting with these expert strategies designed to help you navigate the fast-paced world of two-mile steeplechase racing.

Speed and Jumping Ability

Focus on horses with exceptional speed and jumping ability, as these are crucial traits for success in the Champion Chase. Analyze the form of contenders to identify those with a proven track record of quick and accurate jumping over fences. Look for horses with a history of success at the two-mile distance and on similar ground conditions.

Trainer and Jockey Form

Pay close attention to the form of trainers and jockeys leading up to the Champion Chase. Experienced trainers who have a history of success at the Cheltenham Festival and in Grade 1 races are likely to have their horses well-prepared for the event. Similarly, jockeys with a good record at Cheltenham and in big races should be considered when placing bets.

Race Trends and Course Specialists

Consider historical trends and patterns in the Champion Chase when formulating your betting strategy. Look for horses that fit the profile of past winners, such as previous winners of the race, horses with strong performances at Cheltenham, and those that have excelled on similar ground conditions. Additionally, focus on course specialists who have a proven ability to perform well at Cheltenham and in similar Grade 1 events.

Last Year’s Winner

In 2023, Energumene stormed to victory in the Queen Mother Champion Chase at the Cheltenham Festival, showcasing a breathtaking display of speed and skill.

Trained by Willie Mullins and ridden by Paul Townend, Energumene exhibited sheer dominance throughout the race, asserting his superiority over a competitive field. With electrifying pace and flawless jumping, Energumene left spectators and rivals alike in awe, etching his name into the annals of Champion Chase history as a worthy champion.


Previous Champion Chase Winners

Over the years, the Champion Chase has been won by some of the most legendary names in horse racing, including Sprinter Sacre, Moscow Flyer, and Master Minded. These champions have left an indelible mark on the history of the race. Here are the last 11 winners of the Queen Mother Champion Chase at the Cheltenham Festival:

  • 2024 – Captain Guinness
  • 2023 – Energumene
  • 2022 – Energumene
  • 2021 – Put The Kettle On
  • 2020 – Politologue
  • 2019 – Altior
  • 2018 – Altior
  • 2017 – Special Tiara
  • 2016 – Sprinter Sacre
  • 2015 – Dodging Bullets
  • 2014 – Sire De Grugy
  • 2013 – Sprinter Sacre