Step into the world of snooker betting with our comprehensive Welsh Open guide. Here, you’ll uncover the latest odds, player insights, and strategic betting tips tailored to one of snooker’s most prestigious tournaments.

Whether you’re backing a seasoned champion or an emerging talent, our guide equips you with the knowledge to place your bets wisely and enhance your viewing experience. Get ready to dive deep into the action and strategy of Welsh Open snooker betting.

Welsh Open Snooker Betting Tips

Welsh Open Snooker Preview 2024

The Welsh Open’s betting scene has taken a surprising turn with the withdrawal of snooker legend Ronnie O’Sullivan. This unexpected development opens up the field significantly, making the tournament more unpredictable and potentially more lucrative for bettors looking for value snooker bet outside of the usual favorites. Jordan Brown, Joe Perry and Robert Milkins are all recent examples of surprise winners of the Ray Reardon Trophy.

O’Sullivan’s absence shakes up the odds, placing a brighter spotlight on other top contenders and rising stars who now have a clearer path to victory. Bettors should closely examine players’ recent performances, resilience under pressure, and historical success at the Welsh Open to make informed bets.

Judd Trump has also pulled out of the competition, with Duane Jones stepping in as his replacement. Noteworthy participants include snooker stars Mark Selby, Mark Allen, Neil Robertson, John Higgins, Jack Lisowski, and local boy Mark Williams.

This situation creates a dynamic betting environment, encouraging a deeper dive into the stats and stories of those vying for the title in what promises to be another interesting edition of the Welsh Open snooker event.

Ronnie Withdraws

Ronnie O’Sullivan pulled out of the 2024 Welsh Open snooker event, citing the need to protect his mental health and mentioning struggles with stage fright and anxiety. This decision follows his recent withdrawal from the German Masters.

O’Sullivan, a seven-time world champion and vocal critic of the snooker schedule, plans to remain involved in the Welsh Open as a TV pundit. The tournament in Llandudno will see Liam Graham taking on Dominic Dale in the opening round on February 12, in O’Sullivan’s absence.

Where To Watch the Welsh Open Snooker?

You can catch the 2024 Welsh Open live daily on the Eurosport 1 channel, or stream it ad-free through discovery+, the Eurosport app, and You can also follow the event and live scoring on the official World Snooker site at

Welsh Open Betting Strategies

  1. Player Form and Head-to-Head Records: Analyze recent performances of players and their historical matchups, focusing on those who consistently perform well in snooker’s unique conditions.
  2. Playing Style and Conditions: Consider the playing styles of the competitors and how they adapt to the conditions of the Welsh Open, including table speeds and atmospheric conditions.
  3. Upset Potential: Look for underdog players who have shown potential in recent tournaments or have a playing style that could surprise top-seeded players, offering value bets.

Format & Schedule

The 2024 Welsh Open kicks off on Monday, February 12, with daily progression through to the final on Sunday.

Match formats vary by round, starting with best-of-seven frames through the fourth round, then best-of-nine for quarter-finals, best-of-11 for semi-finals, and culminating in a best-of-17 frame final, consistent with the Home Nations series structure.

Prize Money

  • Winner: £80,000
  • Runner-up: £35,000
  • Semi-final: £17,500
  • Quarter-final: £11,000
  • Last 16: £7,500
  • Last 32: £4,500
  • Last 64: £3,000
  • Highest break: £5,000
  • Total: £427,000

History of the Welsh Open Snooker

The Welsh Open, a cornerstone of the snooker calendar, began in 1992, becoming a significant ranking event showcasing top talent. It’s part of the Home Nations Series, alongside the English, Scottish, and Northern Ireland Opens.

The tournament has seen legends like John Higgins and Ronnie O’Sullivan among its champions, making it a prestigious title. Its history is marked by memorable matches and exceptional talent, reflecting snooker’s rich tradition and the event’s role in highlighting emerging and established stars.

Previous Winners

  • 2024: Gary Wilson
  • 2023: Robert Milkins
  • 2022: Joe Perry
  • 2021: Jordan Brown
  • 2020: Shaun Murphy
  • 2019: Neil Robertson
  • 2018: John Higgins
  • 2017: Stuart Bingham
  • 2016: Ronnie O’Sullivan
  • 2015: John Higgins
  • 2014: Ronnie O’Sullivan